Directorate of Archaeology, Archives and Museums

Government of Madhya Pradesh

Central Provinces

The records series of Central Provinces pertains to the period 1798 to 1919. The subsequent series of records from 1920 to 1956 is in the possession of the General Administration Department, Secretariat, Government of Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal.

The record series begins from 1798 when H.D. Colbrook a British Agent arrived at Nagpur, in the Court of Bhonsla Raja, Raghuji II. It was the beginning of the Nagpur Residency Records, the series lasted up to 1854 when on the death of Bhonsla Raja Raghuji III on 11 December 1853, Nagpur Kingdom was annexed by the East India Company on 4 March,1854.

Later Nagpur Province and parts of North East Provinces including Jabalpur Division and Saugor, Nerbuda Territories were amalgamated to form a New Province in 1861 and was named as Central Provinces. The Province of Berar was added to it in 1903. The record series subsequent to the annexation of Nagpur Kingdom in 1854 is mainly covered in "Proceedings" from the year 1855 to 1919. The records series from 1798 to 1919 came into the possession of the Directorate of Madhya Pradesh State Archives on its formation in 1974.


The record holdings preserved in the Repository at Satpura Bhawan, Bhopal are as follows:-

Sl.No. Name of the Records Series Year
1 Compilations 1845-1917
2 Collections 1851-1926
3 Files - Civil Secretariat 1861-1919
4 Proceedings 1855-1919
5 Miscellaneous Papers/Records 1848-1926
6 Volumes 1801-1886
7 Bundle Correspondence 1811-1882
8 Division and District Records 1816-1861